# 2018 ACH Executive Committee Nominations and Ballot

The ACH Executive Committee of seven members oversees administration of the Association. All members are chosen by a Nominating Committee of three members elected at the Annual General Meeting. The Nominating Committee is charged with ensuring that the Executive, as far as is possible from the members willing to accept nomination, reflects the geographic diversity of the Caribbean, as well as its languages and cultures. All members of the Executive are chosen to serve for one year; positions are renewable for a second year, but the period of service may differ.

#### I. OFFICERS

The President can serve two one-year terms, but not more than three consecutive years. The Vice-President succeeds the out-going President, if he or she is nominated. The Secretary-Treasurer is expected to serve for three years, and may be renewed for a second three-year term. The Conference Coordinator is also elected for a one-year term, which can be renewed for a second year. Although members are not asked to elect the Officers, the Nominating Committee has provided brief resumes for them, as well as for the other members of the Executive Committee up for election, so that members of the ACH can consider the composition of the Executive as a whole.

#### President: Rosemarijn Hoefte. KITLV, The Netherlands

Rosemarijn Hoefte is a senior researcher at the KITLV/Royal Netherlands Institute of Southeast Asian and Caribbean Studies in Leiden.

## Vice President: Heather Cateau, UWI, St. Augustine

Heather Cateau is Senior Lecturer in History in the Department of History, and Dean of the Faculty of Humanities, The University of the West Indies, St. Augustine Campus.

## Secretary-Treasurer: Tara Inniss, UWI, Cave Hill

Tara Inniss is Lecturer in History in the Department of History and Philosophy at the University of the West Indies, Cave Hill Campus.

#### Conference Coordinator: Gelien Matthews, UWI, St. Augustine.

Gelien Matthews is Senior Lecturer in History, Department of History, The University of the West Indies, St. Augustine.

# II. MEMBERS (please select no more than 3 of the following 5 candidates):

There are three places filled by election, initially for one year, from a list of names provided by the Nominating Committee. These members may be nominated for a second year if they are willing to accept nomination:

- Philippe Girard (completed one year on the EC). Philippe Girard is Professor of History in the Department of History, McNeese State University, Louisiana.
- □ Kirsten Block, University of Tennessee (First Nomination). Kirsten Block is Associate Professor in History in the Department of History at the University of Tennessee, Knoxville.

- Fiona Rajkumar, University of the Southern Caribbean (First Nomination). Fiona Rajkumar is a Lecturer in the History Department at the University of the Southern Caribbean, Trinidad and Tobago.
- Carla Pestana (completed one year on the EC). Carla Pestana is Professor and the Joyce Appleby Endowed Chair of America and the World, Department of History, University of California, Los Angeles.
- Pedro Welch (completed one year on the EC). Pedro Welch is retired Professor of History, and former Dean of the Faculty of Humanities and Education, The University of the West Indies, Cave Hill. He is also a former Secretary/Treasurer of the ACH.

If voting by mail, please print this form and send it by May 15, 2018 to:

Tara Inniss
Secretary-Treasurer
Association of Caribbean Historians
c/o The Department of History and Philosophy
Cave Hill Campus, The University of the West Indies
BARBADOS

E-mail: achsecretary@gmail.com

You may also bring your ballot to the ACH conference in Barbados in a sealed envelope, or blank ballots will be provided at registration.