ACH Header

The ACH
English
Français
Español

History
English
Français
Español

Officers and Executive Committee
English
Français
Español

Nominating Committee
English
Français
Español

Ballots
2017 Ballot English
2017 Ballot Français
2017 Ballot Español

Constitution
English
Français
Español

Past Presidents
English
Français
Español

The ACH Logo
English
Français
Español

ACH Translation Project
English

Français
Español

 

ACH reçoit subvention pour la traduction

L'Association des Historiens des Caraïbes se consacre aux échanges multilingues savants depuis sa création, et au printemps de 2011, l'AHC a reçu une subvention pour développer cette partie de sa mission. A partir de cet été, une bourse de recherche de USD$2000 pour le perfectionnement professionnel fourni par Stockton University aide à la traduction en français et en espagnol du site Web du CCA et le communiqué de l'organisation.

Actuellement, la plupart des annonces AHC et les publications paraissent en anglais seulement. De nombreux membres d’AHC, cependant, ne parlent pas l'anglais comme langue principale; pour élargir la portée internationale de l'organisation et pour encourager un dialogue plus multilingue entre les membres, cette subvention a pour but de  traduire les outils principaux de communication  de l'AHC dans les deux autres langues dominantes du monde  Atlantique.

La traduction elle-même sera réalisée par des étudiants avancés à Stockton University, supervisés par des professeurs de langue. Bien que cette subvention pilote ne fournisse qu’un soutien initial pour 2011-12, de nombreux éléments à la fois du site et du communiqué (tels que les appels à communications, la publication, et les bourses de voyage, les détails d'inscription au congrès, etc) peuvent être facilement modifiées pour les années à venir, donc ces travaux s'étendront bien au-delà de la première année de financement.

Le travail de traduction commencera en août, et la traduction en français et en espagnol du communiqué d'été devrait se lancer en octobre, tandis que le numéro d'hiver devrait apparaître simultanément dans les trois langues.

Les travaux sur le site Internet se dérouleront sur plusieurs mois, mais le résultat est prévu pour le  printemps 2012. Nous nous réjouissons de cette occasion pour améliorer l'échange de communication  intellectuelle entre nos membres, et nous invitons toute suggestion visant à améliorer le fonctionnement de notre association.

Un merci spécial à:

Stockton University professeurs en langues et culture: Arnaldo Cordero-Román, David King, Gorica Majstorovic, et Kory Olson.

Stockton étudiants du Collège: Kristin Davisson, Paige Philips, Kathryn Baker,Theresa Miro, Jose Raphael Gutierrez, Kathryn McBride, David Criales, Paola Celis, William Collins, Clara Di Gennaro, Anibal Guzmán, Isabelle Isidoro, Maryceli Martínez, Meyde Mendoza, Delimaris Morales, Jesse Morales, Tania Riveria, Laura Robinson, Dolly Santiago, Rachel Scutti, Lauren Shockley,  Alynne Trujillo, and Diego Vera Mera.

ACH Header

The ACH
English
Français
Español

History
English
Français
Español

Officers and Executive Committee
English
Français
Español

Nominating Committee
English
Français
Español

Ballots
2017 Ballot English
2017 Ballot Français
2017 Ballot Español

Constitution
English
Français
Español

Past Presidents
English
Français
Español

The ACH Logo
English
Français
Español

ACH Translation Project
English

Français
Español

 

ACH receives Translation Grant

The Association of Caribbean Historians has been committed to multi-lingual scholarly exchange since its inception, and in the spring of 2011, the ACH received a grant to expand this part of its mission. Beginning late this summer, a $2,000 research and professional development grant from Stockton University will support translation of the ACH website and the organization’s newsletter, the Bulletin, into both French and Spanish.

Currently most ACH announcements and publications appear in English only.  Many ACH members, however, do not speak English as their primary language; to broaden the organization’s international reach and encourage a more multi-lingual dialogue between members, this grant sought to translate the ACH’s chief communication tools into the two other dominant languages of the Atlantic world. 

The translation itself will be completed by advanced students at Stockton University, supervised by faculty in the Department of Languages and Culture. While this pilot grant only provides support for 2011-12, many elements of both the website and newsletter (such as calls for papers, publication and travel prize announcements, conference registration details, etc.) can be readily modified for subsequent years, so this work will reach far beyond the initial year of funding.

Translation work will begin in August, and the French and Spanish issue of the summer Bulletin should launch in October, while the winter issue should appear simultaneously in all three languages.

Work on the website will take place over several months, but is scheduled for completion by spring 2012.  We look forward to this opportunity to improve communication and intellectual exchange between our members, and welcome any input and suggestions.

Special thanks to:

Stockton University Languages and Culture faculty:  Arnaldo Cordero-Román, David King, Gorica Majstorovic, and Kory Olson.

Stockton University students: Kristin Davisson, Paige Philips, Kathryn Baker,Theresa Miro, Jose Raphael Gutierrez, Kathryn McBride, David Criales, Paola Celis, William Collins, Clara Di Gennaro, Anibal Guzmán, Isabelle Isidoro, Maryceli Martínez, Meyde Mendoza, Delimaris Morales, Jesse Morales, Tania Riveria, Laura Robinson, Dolly Santiago, Rachel Scutti, Lauren Shockley,  Alynne Trujillo, and Diego Vera Mera.